What Are The 7 Chakras?

Where to begin?  There is so much information about chakras, the chakra system, reading them, balancing them, and more.  But, I am going to try and keep it simple for you....

Chakra (cakra in Sanskrit) means "wheel" and references the energy locations in your body.  It is believed there are 114 chakras throughout the whole body, but there are only seven main chakras that run along your spine. 

These energy points are spinning disks that are meant to stay open and aligned.  Each chakra is connected to our nervous system, major organs and areas of our energetic body that can affect our emotional and physical well-being.

The seven main chakras have specific names, color, locations, essential oils, and stones.  They run from the sacrum to the crown of the head. Root, Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat, Third Eye, and Crown.

Having more intimate knowledge/awareness with your body and emotions you can better identify your chakras and where imbalances may be.  Once you are aware of this, there are various ways to help keep your chakras aligned, balanced and opened.

Here is an overview of each main chakra:

The Root chakra or Muladhara is located at the base of the spine. It is part of the matter chakras and essential to grounding and maintaining stability both physically and emotionally. Associated with the colon, bladder, prostate, lower back, legs and feet.  When imbalanced one may feel fatigued, stressed, anxiety, sciatic and lower back issues.

To help balance the root chakra, get plenty of sleep, exercise, & enjoy outdoor activities. Root chakra color is red, the associated stones and crystals are black onyx, red garnet, red jasper, Smokey quartz, and hematite. Essential oils such as Ylang Ylang, vetiver, patchouli, sandalwood, cinnamon can help to keep your root chakra healthy. 

Spleen/Sacral or Svadhisthana is located below the navel and lower abdomen. It is associated with creativity and known as our sexual chakra. The element of water provides a sense of cohesiveness and when imbalanced one can experience depression, weakened immune system, fatigue & sexual dysfunction.

When balanced one can feel accomplished, happiness, and in good health/wellness. This chakra can be stimulated by massage and hot baths. The Spleen/Sacral is associated with the color orange. Some great crystals/stones are sun stone, tigers eye, orange calcite & carnelian.  Essential oils that help balance this chakra are lemongrass, orange & neroli.

Solar Plexus or Manipura is located above the navel and stomach area. Associated with personal power and transformation it is the WARRIOR chakra and at no surprise it’s element is fire. When imbalanced physical manifestations can be digestive issues, constipation, nervousness and blood sugar issues. Some emotional manifestations can be nervousness, low self esteem and anger.

A few methods to stimulate this chakra are sunlight and reading. Crystals/stones that support this chakra are citrine, yellow jasper, rutilated quartz, and pyrite.  Essential oils such as grapefruit and rosemary aid in balancing the Solar Plexus.

Heart or Anahata is located in the center of the chest and is where the lower three chakras or physical chakras meet the upper three or spiritual chakras. This chakra encompasses the heart, breast, lung and cardiac plexus. When closed manifestation of grief, anger, hatred towards others and self.  Fear and jealousy are some emotional impacts of this chakra.

Physical manifestation can be breathing issues, chest pain, high blood pressure and immune system issues. When open, this chakra gives a sense of love, acceptance, forgiveness, and compassion. 

Associated colors are pink and green. Crystals/stones are chrysphrase, aventurine, rose quartz, and rhodonite.  Essential oils to help balance this chakra are cedarwood, eucalyptus, and amyris. Stimulate this chakra by taking a walk in nature, eat green foods and spend time with loved ones. 

Speak your truth! The Throat or Vishudda chakra is all about speaking your truth & listening to others truth. Associated with the throat; region of the thyroid to the larynx. This chakra is responsible for expression and authentic speaking is the key for this chakra, so when imbalanced some physical manifestations can be hormone, thyroid, neck and shoulder issues.

Throat chakra’s color is blue, the stones/crystals associated with this chakra are angelite, sodalite, blue apatite, blue aventurine & aquamarine. It’s essential oils are peppermint, eucalyptus, and geranium. Stimulate this chakra by singing or talking.

Your Sixth Sense. The Third Eye/Brow or Anja is your sixth sense or intuition. Located at the brow, between the eyebrows this chakra is associated with the lower part of the brain, eyes, pituitary gland and head. Anja guides your decision making by providing clues or “gut” feelings so pay attention to those subtle and maybe not so subtle feelings or clues.

When imbalanced some physical manifestations are depression and sleep disorders. When balanced one is open to listening to the sixth sense and able to be guided in the best possible decisions. Stimulate this Chakra through meditation and indigo colored food. Crystals/stones lapis lazuli, soldalite, flourite, amethyst, lolite, & angelite. Some great essential oils are myrrh, patchouli, star anise, & frankincense.

Crown or Sahaswara is one's connection to the Divine. It is the source of spiritual connection and enlightenment. Located above the head this chakra connections us to the highest level; to our divine self.  Stimulated by dreams and visions one can remain spiritually aware by adopting daily practices such as meditation, certain breathing techniques or prayer.

When imbalanced one can experience headaches and light sensitivity.  When balanced one experiences a continual state of peace. The colors of this chakra are violet and white. Crystals/stones are clear quartz, amethyst, celemite, and moonstone. It’s associated essential oils are jasmine and lavender.

These are all energetic centers of the body that correspond to feelings and one or more of them will resonate with you at different times. Sometimes you can experience these as blocks. When you repeatedly experience the same issues, that is a big indicator that one or more chakras are blocked.  

You can unblock them the same way you help to balance and alignment them.  yoga, mediation, chakra cleansing, breath work, sound therapy, aroma therapy and using the corresponding stones in your daily practice. 

Love & light,
Tara Raj
ACC & Certified Professional Life Coach
Certified Nutrition and Wellness Coach
Certified Reiki & Chakra Healer 
Certified Skincare Consultant
Student of YogaRenew

Leave a comment